Prince Edward County Courthouse - Farmville, VA
The first session of the court in Farmville was on March 26, 1872. When the building became inadequate for use as a courthouse, a new building was constructed on the same site in 1939. It represents the picturesque simplicity of early Colonial design. The Light of Reconcilation was illuminated in the Courthouse Bell Tower on July 21, 2008. This was to honor Barbara Rose Johns and the students of Robert Russa Moton High School and all the children of the county for their role in ending public school segregation in the U.S., and with sorrow for closing schools. Read news story here.